Vintagediver
Master Diver

Air Is Hard To Turn On & Off

Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:55 pm

First things first. I've had a good amount of experience working on my Voit & USD two hose regs; but ZERO experience when it comes to rebuilding or repairng any valves. The valve I'm beginning to have a problem with is The U.S.D. Constant Reserve "J" Valve; the valve which is shown in figure 3-47 (A) on page 181 of Basic Scuba the first edition. This tank and valve was originally my cousins and they date back to the mid 50's; in fact on the back side of the valve it is stamped 5-54; which I assume is a manufacture date. I acquired it several years ago; it passed all inspections with flying colors and I've been using it for the last several years but have recently noticed that it is becoming very hard to turn the valve handle (part 4 / #0501-11) when I want to turn the air on or off. I assume that this valve can be rebuilt; but I am not sure what to look for or suspect that is causing the problem. I'm not sure how soon I will do this; in fact it might be a winter project when it's not in use. I might also consider buying another one in good working order if there is one available, and use the one I have to learn from by tearing it down and bebuilding it. As always any info, warnings or suggestions from those of you who have worked on these will be greatly appreciated. Thank You! :) Terry
The friendship of many has been inspired and created while together we've explored beneath the waves the wonders of God's creation.

NAVED Member #137
Member of The 2016, 2017 Sea Hunt Forever Dive Team

antique diver
Master Diver
First Name: Bill

Re: Air Is Hard To Turn On & Off

Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:13 pm

Terry,
Look over a schematic, then tear into it. If you can rebuild a regulator you need not be afraid of a little old valve. :)
The older I get the better I was.

8dust
Master Diver

Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:20 pm

Well now I just feel worse...