hydronaut
Skin Diver
First Name: Andrew

Healthways Twin 50s and 1/2 Tapered Valves

Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:01 pm

Picked up a set from a local shop who had them sitting in the back. Owner said clean em up and give them a visual (I am a PSI inspector) and bring them back for a fill (vintage and DIY friendly shop).

Pulled the valves and insides look good (one has a bit of surface rust but no pitting). Will drop them off for a hydro at a local hydro facility on Monday.

I have a quick question about the valve. One thread on one side is a little messed up. Nothing major and I am assuming it is from years of torquing these things down. It is the topmost thread when seated. This side also seats much lower in the tank than the other.

Are there any CGA standards regarding these threads etc? Would you guys just leave it or run it through a 1/2 NPT die or anything of the like?

They were born in 1962.

Thanks,

Hydronaut

captain
Plank Owner

Re: Healthways Twin 50s and 1/2 Tapered Valves

Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:07 am

Kind of looks like a crack but it just may be the photograph. Looking at the assembled tanks it appears it is at the depth the valve is screwed in the tanks. If it isn't an actual crack I wouldn't worry about it. You could try running it in a die and see if it cleans up.
Captain

hydronaut
Skin Diver

Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:20 am

captain wrote:Kind of looks like a crack but it just may be the photograph. Looking at the assembled tanks it appears it is at the depth the valve is screwed in the tanks. If it isn't an actual crack I wouldn't worry about it. You could try running it in a die and see if it cleans up.
No crack. Just the way the photo was taken. Will probably just leave it. You are correct, it is right at the top.

Thanks.

antique diver
Master Diver
First Name: Bill

Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:59 am

Looks like it could be galling from overtightening, maybe compounded by lack of enough Teflon tape for lubrication between the tank neck steel and the valve brass.