Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
SurfLung
Master Diver
First Name: Eben

Servicing a Calypso Depth Gauge

Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:14 am

Servicing the Calypso Depth Gauge...
- It's tough to get a Calypso depth gauge in good shape. I've been messing with one after another for a couple of years and I think I've learned how to restore/service them. I have three and have cobbled together two out of the three that are working well. The one with the best lens had the internals of the bourdon tube completely clogged with corrosion. My best one was a newer version with orange face and black plastic case... Identical to the chrome ones except for a larger pressure port screw. This one was brand new in the original box... Had never been wet. It leaked completely the first time I dove it. So, I would recommend servicing even to ones that appear in the best condition. Here are a few tips:
1. These are supposed to be just air inside... Don't fill them with oil.
2. Don't try to pry the lens off. It is held in by suction and will chip and then crack across the face. The lens is VERY fragile.
3. Make/grind a proper spanner head screw driver so you can unscrew/screw the pressure port without damaging it.
4. There is a weird O-Ring arrangement that needs to be replaced for reliable seal. It's weird because it seals the gauge to the case to the pressure port... three surfaces. I don't remember the O-ring but I found exact replacements at my local Ace Hardware.