Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
veggiedog

Is an h-valve vintage?

Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:11 pm

I have been acused of being a PADIphite, but in reality I'm just an evil tech-head all by myself No one to blame but me: certified NASDS and NAUI in the early 80s, solo diver with no buddies to blame.

I have arrived on a solution for my double hose system that I am quite excited about: I am switching out the j-valve on my steel 72 for an h-valve so that I can have a redundant regulator system to drive all of my modern gadgets (BC, backup regulator, SPG, you know, ultra-modern stuff) while diving with my mistral double hose. I will be using my bp/w setup and all of its geeky attachments (redundant stuff).

I already have an h-valve on an aluminum 80, and the modern regulator looks great (in a geeky-tech kinda way) next to the double hose. I had originally looked into a y-valve for my steel 72 (they look more "vintage" to me) but the spacing was too close for a modern regulator plus the double hose. Besides, the h-valve keeps the mistral centered and properly de-emphasizes the backup (modern, lower and off to the side of the mistral) system in a visual way.

I can already think of cool implications: being able to turn off the air to the mistral so that I can swim on my back on the surface, turning off the air to the mistral if I need to switch to the backup regulator (double hose freeflow is difficult to control with the mouthpiece out of your mouth).

Mostly just excited about having the choice to use my "modern" amenities. I'll provide photos of my first outing after the valve arrives.

I won't be suprised if my posting gets kicked off the "vintage diving forum" though.

diverdown1955
Skin Diver

Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:05 pm

Veggiedog,