Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
larry

Duckbills in da aquamaster

Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:41 pm

What causes the DuclBill to be sucked into the hose when inhaling into the mouth piece of a da aquamaster? Anybody hepl me with this as I am new to vintage double hoses. thanks. larry

Nemrod
VDH Moderator
First Name: James

Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:09 pm

I had never ever seen this until the Florida Sand Dog dive where one of our divers had this happen with his Mistral. Then at the Wazee dive another diver had the same thing happen. There are several ways this can happen. The main one is that the exhaust cage valve in the mouthpiece is damaged or stiff and not sealing all the way allowing a negative prressure to be applied. Another is that some debris may have entered the cage valve again preventing it from sealing. Another is that yanking on the exhaust hose--stretching it might could reverse the duckbill. If your duckbill reverses you may be able to blow it out but do not waste a lot of time with this--that is if actually diving when it happens. You can still breath, just exhaust from your nose or mouth around the mouthpiece, abort the dive and normally surface. Stiff, tired, warped cage valves will leak and prevent proper clearing and functioning of your double hose. Make sure they are clean and soft and that the cage valve--the wagon wheel--is in good shape, not cracked or broken or missing a spoke. You can, if you wish, use a touch of AquaSeal (not silicone or bubble gum or anything else) on the back side of the duckbill and then adhere it to the top case inner surface. Just a small dab will do. You do not want to glue the entire valve to the case, just a little dab about midways. This done there is virtually no way for the duckbill to reverse.
James

luis
VDH Moderator
First Name: Luis

Tue Aug 23, 2005 3:10 pm