Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
time2dive
Vintage Diver

Chrome work

Tue Apr 20, 2021 8:35 pm

is anyone still rechroming cans? I have a Royal Aquamaster in need of some chrome work.
Cranky old man, diver, photographer, scarer of children
http://www.kona-hydrostatic-testing.com/

Greg Barlow
VDH Moderator
First Name: Greg

Re: Chrome work

Wed Apr 21, 2021 1:38 pm

Not that I am aware of. Many of us were spoiled by the wonderful work of Dave Ali. A few of our members have had shops that specialize in motor sports complete work for them.

Greg
Greg Barlow
PADI Assistant Instructor
TDI Adv. EAN
TDI Decompression Procedures
IANTD Full Cave
NSS/CDS Full Cave

ScubaLawyer
Master Diver
First Name: Mark

Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:15 pm

I just took mine to a local mom and pop chrome shop that did motorcycle and car parts. They had no clue what a regulator was. They did an excellent job!

M

"The diver who collects specimens of underwater life has fun and becomes a keen underwater observer. .. seek slow-moving or attached organisms such as corals, starfish, or shelled creatures." (Golden Guide to Scuba Diving, 1968) :D

Chris
Master Diver
First Name: Chris

Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:45 pm

What did they charge and do they do mail in orders? Im not sure if anyone does chroming in Oregon. I know where to get things galvanized.

ScubaLawyer
Master Diver

Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:54 am

I think it was $45/side, so $90 for top and bottom cans. Don't know about mail order. Here is a link to that shops info:

https://www.yellowpages.com/santa-ana-c ... -548573083
"The diver who collects specimens of underwater life has fun and becomes a keen underwater observer. .. seek slow-moving or attached organisms such as corals, starfish, or shelled creatures." (Golden Guide to Scuba Diving, 1968) :D

h2operations
Master Diver
First Name: Paul

Fri Apr 23, 2021 1:54 pm