User avatar
Fibonacci
Vintage Diver
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:08 pm
First Name: Graeme
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:23 am

I have a new-to-me round label Aqualung RAM in excellent external condition that also had a fair few upgrades before I bought it (Cyclone, HPR, DBE, silicon exhaust valves and diaphragm, can clamp).

However it currently has the original long LP yoke with 'spare tyre' knob and I'd like to upgrade it to a heavy yoke for 232BAR HP tanks.

I already have a VDH adaptor nut but am unsure which models of heavy yoke would suit the upgrade (Conshelf 12-14-21 yokes are threaded inside, the nut needs a smooth yoke bore)
https://vintagedoublehose.com/store/#!/ ... p/34067245

Any advice gratefully received :)
'A man can never have too much red wine, too many books or too much ammunition' Rudyard Kipling

User avatar
2THDIVR
Vintage Diver
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:01 pm
First Name: Scott
Location: Venice,FL

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:02 pm

Seaquest Regs are a great source for heavy yokes.
I use them on my Cyclone and Phoenix Regs.
Same yoke that is used on the Aqua Lung SEA reg.
You can find them cheap on e-bay

User avatar
Fibonacci
Vintage Diver
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:08 pm
First Name: Graeme
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:01 am

Thanks... on the lookout now!
'A man can never have too much red wine, too many books or too much ammunition' Rudyard Kipling

User avatar
Fibonacci
Vintage Diver
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:08 pm
First Name: Graeme
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

I thought the heavy yokes that are fitted to the Phoenix were also available as a separate item in the VDH webstore?
Can't see them listed anymore...
'A man can never have too much red wine, too many books or too much ammunition' Rudyard Kipling

User avatar
Fibonacci
Vintage Diver
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:08 pm
First Name: Graeme
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:24 pm

Just following up on this:
I thought the heavy yokes that are fitted to the Phoenix were also available as a separate item in the VDH webstore?
Can't see them listed anymore...


Will the Phoenix HD yokes be back in the store anytime soon or should I keep looking for a second hand USD/Aqualung yoke?
'A man can never have too much red wine, too many books or too much ammunition' Rudyard Kipling

User avatar
Bryan
Plank Owner
Posts: 5197
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 11:40 am
First Name: Bryan
Location: Wesley Chapel Florida
Contact: Website

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:08 pm

2016 on up Phoenix/Kraken use their own yoke and will not work with any made earlier. Simply buy any Conshelf yoke and take it to a machine shop and have the center hole opened up to fit the nut. I dove a RAM with a yoke done that way for years.
Doing it right should include some common sense, not just blindly following specs and instructions. .Gary D, AWAP on SB

User avatar
Fibonacci
Vintage Diver
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:08 pm
First Name: Graeme
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:38 pm

Thanks for the update Bryan, will do.
'A man can never have too much red wine, too many books or too much ammunition' Rudyard Kipling

User avatar
captain
Plank Owner
Posts: 1309
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:32 am
Location: LaPlace, LA

Re: Heavy yoke for Cyclone?

Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:35 am

I did not care for the screw on yoke on my Phoenix so I bored it out to accept an Mistral yoke nut.
Captain

Return to “Phoenix and Argonaut Specialty Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest