guyharrisonphoto
Skin Diver
First Name: Guy

Want to Try a Kraken, Can Anyone Help?

Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:56 pm

I am seriously considering getting a Kraken for my underwater photography. However, I would like to try one, which probably includes someone showing me the ropes, before I take the plunge.

I am in South Florida, but can travel to North Florida any weekend. If anyone would be kind enough to help, the cost of the dive, tanks, and dinner and drinks, are on me! I would want to try the reg with the special VDH backplate/wing to get a feel for the entire package.

If anyone wants to come down to Blue Heron Bridge for a great macro dive, I can show you around also.

you can reply here, or pm me, or email [email protected]

Thanks,

Guy

Pedro
Skin Diver
First Name: Pedro

Re: Want to Try a Kraken, Can Anyone Help?

Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:50 pm

Hi Guy,

I'm a bit too far from Florida to offer mine for a test dive, but as a fellow photographer I can say I really like it. Did you ever dive a double hose?

For me the first few dives were quite different, but once I got used to it there was no going back. Let me know if you have any questions from a photographers perspective, would be glad to help

Cheers,
Pedro

guyharrisonphoto
Skin Diver

Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:15 pm

Hello Pedro,

How does it breathe in the "horizontal trim" position or slightly head down, for macro photography? Same question in the slightly head's up to vertical position for scenics or big animals?

How noisy is it in terms of inhalation and exhaust?

Did you get the dedicated backplate/wing/harness?

Thanks!

Pedro
Skin Diver
First Name: Pedro

Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:07 pm

This is all very personal and others may disagree, so please take it for what it's worth: