2THDIVR
Master Diver
First Name: Scott

LP Seat Holder Stem Nut

Sun Mar 06, 2011 3:28 pm

Was tring to find a match for the nut on the LP seat holder. Have a few extra NOS seat holders but no nuts.
Nothing I have matches except other holder nuts.
Are they 5-40 or metric? don't have metric or a 5-40 taps to compare
Will a stainless with the nylon lock from a calypso (same size) hold or do you really need to crimp a brass one?

Thanks
Scott

captain
Plank Owner

Re: LP Seat Holder Stem Nut

Sun Mar 06, 2011 4:26 pm

The nut is a 1/8" 40.
5-40 and 6-40 are too small. No one crimps them. You can use a regular nut and if you want put a dab of silicone sealer on top or use the nylock from the single hose.
Captain

2THDIVR
Master Diver

Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:36 pm

Captain,
I did a quick search at McMaster and had no luck finding a 1/8-40 nut.
Is this a special order item for U.S. Divers?

Thanks
Scott

antique diver
Master Diver
First Name: Bill

Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:53 pm

2THDIVR wrote:Was tring to find a match for the nut on the LP seat holder. Have a few extra NOS seat holders but no nuts.
Nothing I have matches except other holder nuts.
Are they 5-40 or metric? don't have metric or a 5-40 taps to compare
Will a stainless with the nylon lock from a calypso (same size) hold or do you really need to crimp a brass one?

Thanks
Scott
I sure don't recommend staking the brass nut like done from factory. Way too many times it will damage the stem threads the next time you disassemble. You may even bend the stem while staking it (I learned that the hard way :? ). I have had good luck with using a small dot of medium loctite or even clear fingernail polish to hold the nut from accidental turning. The nylon lock style works fine if you aren't trying to keep it close to original configuration. The thread diameter is nominally 0.125", and that is the specification that I found for #5 x 40, which works for me.