Jaypee
Skin Diver
First Name: JP

Rebuilding my Dad's Aqualung Aquarius regs

Tue May 10, 2016 7:21 pm

Hi from Australia everyone,

I've been snooping around these forums for a few days now and i have found all the info i think i'll need to begin rebuilding my Dad's Aqualung Aquarius regs. A bit of background first though:
- I am a newly certified AOW and Nitrox diver with 15 dives to my name - all done in the last four weeks (i see why they call Scuba an addiction :lol: ).
- I don't own any of my own gear aside from Boots, Fins, Mask and snorkel.
- I have no experience in servicing regs or any other diving gear, but i am technically minded and keen to learn
- I intend to buy a tank and intermediate pressure gauge so that i can test and service regs (i have access to a pool :D )

My Dad has kindly given me his diving gear from the 70s to use. It consists of an Aqualung Aquarius first and second stage, Aqualung US Divers SPG with compass and depth gauge built in, and a fourth, shorter detached hose (which i assume is for the separate pressure gauge that was in the bag too). My dad also has an Aqualung BC but the bladder is not in working order. There is an aluminium tank too, but here in Australia most dive shops will refuse to fill an aluminium tank made before 1991 due to a safety warning issued by the government about tanks manufactured from aluminium alloy 6351.

I have the 1086-00 Aquarius servicing manual printed out, and i am ready to buy the first stage service kit and the second stage service kit provided by VDH. Given that this equipment hasn't been used since at least 1982, should i replace all rubber parts on the regs (including mouthpiece and exhaust T) and all hoses? This may be something that can't be answered until i am able to test the function of the regs on a tank. Would you also replace the diaphragm as a matter of course?